top of page

The MORE Act - What does this mean for Nebraska?

The Marijuana Opportunity Reinvestment and Expungement (MORE) Act, will help terminate criminal punishments that are associated with the drugs while also helping to make a process to eliminate past convictions for the drug on people's records. The MORE act will remove cannabis from the controlled substances act, thus helping communities around the United States who have been impacted by the War on Drugs. With a high number of Americans (91% in a Pew Research Poll in 2021) supporting marijuana legalization for medical purposes, many political leaders have a strong feeling it will be a favorable point in November's midterms.

Rep. Nancy Mace has proposed that there will be a set age limit of 21-years-old for marijuana use, but what does this mean for Nebraska? Ideally, this would mean that Nebraska cannabis shops that carry Delta 8 would now be allowed to carry and distribute all forms of cannabis to people 21 and over. This will also mean that a tax percentage will be put in place if the MORE Act is passed. “Americans have made their support for cannabis legalization abundantly clear, and states across the country have taken the lead on cannabis legalization. Now it is time for Congress to take action and finally put an end to the failed policy of prohibition,” said Toi Hutchinson, president, and CEO of the Marijuana Policy Project, an advocacy group.

Many states besides Nebraska have legalized cannabis use, this act makes it confusing for people to know where and when using it is safe. When a state like Colorado that has the ability to distribute and profit with no issues is so close to Nebraska it takes a toll on the people who live in Nebraska. Small cannabis businesses in Omaha have to go through many hoops and issues to sell the lowest percentages of marijuana when right next door people are having little to no issues and thriving off of the ability to buy and distribute peacefully. The MORE Act will create a safer selling and buying environment for the people of Omaha, Nebraska, and the other states that have not had the ability to do so.

Wondering what states allow recreational and medical use? See the list:

Legal Recreational Use: 18 states - Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Virginia and Washington.

Legal Medical Use: 37 states - Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia.

110 views0 comments


bottom of page